The Yachts

Wild Rose

Category Placing
Line Honours 42
IRC - Div 3 2
ORCi 8
ORCi - Div 3 7
* Click on the categories for full standings

On winning the 2013/ Blue Water Pointscore to be crowned 2014 Ocean Racer of the Year, Roger Hickman sailed to 26th overall in last year’s Land Rover Sydney Gold Coast Yacht Race and second in Division 4 and consequently finished 10th overall in the BWPS. ‘Hicko’ went on to a popular overall victory in the 2014 Rolex Sydney Hobart (for which he was recognised by the RYCT, being awarded the Governor’s Cup). This was his second overall Sydney Hobart win with Wild Rose, adding to his Hobart win as sailing master for Ausmaid. He went on to second in Division 2 of the NSW IRC Championship in April and will sail with his usual balanced blend of male and female crew.

Wild Rose, originally owned by Bob Oatley and named Wild Oats, celebrates her 30th birthday in this 30th edition of the race. She first raced under the ownership of Hickman and his then partners, Lance Peckman and Bruce Foye, in the 1993 Sydney Gold Coaster and together they won the 1993 Hobart overall under IOR in conjunction with IMS winner, Cuckoos Nest.


Competitor Details

Name Wild Rose
Sail Number 4343
Owner Roger Hickman
Navigator Jenifer Wells
Crew P Inchbold, A Hickman, A Scott, A Fong, D Williams, D Morris, J White, K Ketelbey, P Sayer, S Scott
State NSW
Type Farr 43
Designer Bruce Farr
Builder McConaghy
Construction Kevlar
LOA 13.1
Beam 4.2
Draft 2.5